top of page

Education policy of INDIA

Updated: Sep 21, 2020


The National Education Policy 2020 (NEP 2020) which was approved by the Union Cabinet of India on 29 July 2020 outlines the vision of India’s new education system.

the education policy that india follow and the changes that are made in the policy and this is like an logo
education policy in simple language

1. The new policy replaces the previous National Policy on Education, 1986.

A. The policy is a comprehensive framework for elementary education to higher education as well as vocational training in both rural and urban India. The policy aims to transform India's education system by 2040.

2.Shortly after the release of the policy, the government clarified that no one will be forced to study any particular language and that the medium of instruction will not be shifted from English to any regional language.

3.  The language policy in NEP is a broad guideline and advisory in nature; and it is up to the states, institutions, and schools to decide on the implementation.

4.  The language policy in NEP is a broad guideline and advisory in nature; and it is up to the states, institutions, and schools to decide on the implementation.

5. The policy raises the importance of mother tongue and regional languages; medium of instruction until class 5 and preferably beyond should be in these languages.  Sanskrit and foreign languages will also be given emphasis. The policy also states that no language will be imposed on the students.

Shortly after the release of the policy, the government clarified that the language policy in NEP is a broad guideline; and that it was up to the states, institutions and schools to decide the implementation. A more detailed language strategy would be released in the National Curriculum Framework in 2021.Note was also made that there were already institutions which had implemented this language policy 60 years ago such as Sardar Patel Vidyalaya.[4] Both the Education Policy of 1986 and the Right to Education Act, 2009 promoted usage of the mother tongue too as an advisory guideline.[3]

School education

The "10 + 2" structure will be replaced with "5+3+3+4" model.[15] This will be implemented as follows:[16][17]

Foundational Stage: This is further subdivided into two parts: 3 years of preschool or anganwadi, followed by classes 1 and 2 in primary school. This will cover children of ages 3-8 years. The focus of studies will be in activity-based learning.

Preparatory Stage: Classes 3 to 5, which will cover the ages of 8-11 years. It will gradually introduce subjects like speaking, reading, writing, physical education, languages, art, science and mathematics.

Middle Stage: Classes 6 to 8, covering children between ages 11-14. It will introduce students to the more abstract concepts in subjects of mathematics, sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Secondary Stage: Classes 9 to 12, covering the ages of 14-18 years. It is again subdivided into two parts: classes 9 and 10 covering the first phase while classes 11 and 12 covering the second phase. These 4 years of study are intended to inculcate multidisciplinary study, coupled with depth and critical thinking. Multiple options of subjects will be provided.

Instead of exams being held every academic year, school students will only answer three exams, in classes 3, 5 and 8.[15]

Board exams will be continued to be held for classes 10 and 12 but will be re-designed. Standards for this will be established by an assessment body, PARAKH.[b][15] To make them easier, these exams would be conducted twice a year, with students being offered upto two attempts.[19] The exam itself would have two parts, namely the objective and the descriptive.[1]

This policy aims at reducing the curriculum load of students and allowing them to be more "inter-disciplinary" and "multi-lingual". One example given was "If a student wants to pursue fashion studies with physics, or if one wants to learn bakery with chemistry, they'll be allowed to do so."[20] Report cards will be "holistic", offering information about the student's skills.[1]

Coding will be introduced from class 6 and experiential learning will be adopted[21]

The Midday Meal Scheme will be extended to include breakfasts. More focus will be given to student

for any more query contact us

And leave an heart if you like it

  1. And for more log in to get updates on each and every blog

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Each and every thing about JEE

Jee a entrance exam which is conducted for get admission in IIT AND NIT and they all are the government education institutes which is developed for make India digital and this institutes take] studen


End of the page
middle of the page
Anchor 1
bottom of page